How to Reset a Belkin Router or Modem

Start over from scratch.
Ash Ash (362)
5 minutes

Factory resetting your Belkin router can be a helpful troubleshooting step. If your network has performance issues and you've ruled out environmental factors, a factory reset may be necessary.

Note: Factory resetting your device will remove all of your current settings—this includes things like your WiFi name and password.

Phone, tablet, or computer ×1
Belkin router ×1

Howchoo is reader-supported. As an Amazon Associate, we may earn a small affiliate commission at no cost to you when you buy through our links.

To reset the router using the web interface, you will need a computer or tablet connected to the Belkin device.

  1. Open any browser you like (Chrome, Firefox, etc)
  2. In the address bar, go to http://192.168.2.1. This is the default IP address for Belkin devices. If your router has a unique IP address, use it instead.
  3. Log in to your Belkin router. By default, you can log in by leaving the password field blank. For help with this step, visit our guide on how to log in to a Belkin router.
  4. In the Utilities section, go to Restore Factory Defaults.
  5. Clicking Restore defaults will factory reset the device.

In most cases, you can reset your router with the reset button.

  1. Locate the Reset button on your router. Most Belkin routers have a factory reset button on the back. If you can't find it, check online for a diagram of your router model.
  2. Press and hold the Reset button for at least 15 seconds. This will initiate the factory reset. It may take a couple of minutes for the reset to complete.
Belkin
Belkin Router Login
Show all in the Belkin series
Network troubles? Reset your gateway.
Zach Zach (249)
5 minutes

If your Internet is running slowly or you're experiencing other connectivity issues with your Comcast router or modem, it's a good idea to either reset your gateway to factory defaults or simply restart it. The exact method for resetting your Xfinity router or modem can vary slightly by model. For Comcast router/modem combos, resetting the router to factory settings will also reset the modem -- thus, the terms "router", "modem", and "gateway" are often used interchangeably. Resetting router or modem Resetting your modem will wipe all previous router configuration -- including wifi network name, password, login information, etc. -- thus restoring it to factory defaults. This is different than restarting your router, which does not clear any settings and simply brings your network down and back up. Restarting router or modem To restart your Comcast router (without clearing any settings), simply unplug it, wait at least 30 seconds, and plug it back in. To reset your Comcast router, use the following steps: