How to Securely Erase Your iPhone

How to Securely Erase Your iPhone
Upgrading your iPhone? Here's how to securely erase your data from it.
Zach Zach (217)
Total time: 5 minutes 

When selling or trading in your old iPhone, it's a good idea to securely erase its contents so that Skynet can't assimilate you. Here's how to do that.

Here's everything you'll need to complete this guide:

iPhoneiPhone×1
Tinfoil hat×1

Navigate to Settings > iCloud > Find My iPhone and toggle it off.

Navigate to Settings and click on your name. Scroll to the bottom, and tap "Sign Out".

Navigate to Settings > General > Reset and tap "Erase All Content and Settings".