How to securely empty trash by default in Mac OS X

How to securely empty trash by default in Mac OS X
Zach Zach (233)
0

The default empty trash function in OS X isn't very secure. Data isn't actually overwritten; rather, OS X merely tells itself that the portion of the hard drive containing the deleted data can now be used to store new data, eventually overwriting it. When you "securely empty" the trash, your computer will write a series of 0s over the old data, effectively destroying it.

Posted in these interests:

osx
PRIMARY
47 guides
mac
81 guides
apple
50 guides
security
23 guides
zeroesandones
1 guide