Now, you'll swipe up until you see the two buttons labeled "Clear User Data" and "Reboot Device." Each of these buttons can reset your Fitbit Charge 3 or 4 in a different way.
Clear User Data
Selecting this will essentially factory reset your device. It will remove
- Stored data
- Personal information
- Credit and debit cards (for Fitbit Pay-enabled devices)
- Saved settings
On some other Fitbit devices, this is called "Factory Reset." You'll want to do this if you get a new Fitbit and sync it to your phone, for example.
Selecting this will reboot the device itself. It will not reset or remove any user data. Rebooting the device troubleshoots many issues that Fitbit wearers might experience, such as when:
- The device stops responding.
- The device will not sync.
- It stops tracking your stats and steps.
- The buttons stop responding.
Your Fitbit Charge may need to plug in for the device to restart after being shut down.