How to Reset a Cisco Router or Modem

Completely wipe your Cisco router
  • by Ash (112)
  • Time to complete: 5 minutes

Cisco routers are pretty standard when it comes to factory resets. Like most devices, they have a factory reset button that can be used to completely wipe the device.

Factory resetting your Cisco router will remove all of your current settings, including your network name and WiFi password—so be sure to proceed with caution!

1

Make sure the Cisco router is turned off and the power cord is plugged into both the router and the power source.

2

Look for the small factory reset button on the back of the router. Don't press it yet! Just make sure you can locate it.

3

To initiate a factory reset, you need to press and hold the power button and the factory reset button at the same time for at least 10 seconds.

4

After you initiate the factory reset, the router will take 5 - 10 minutes to boot. When the lights blink in repetitive patterns or stay solid, you'll know the router is back online.

Restart the router—when it boots again, the factory default settings will be restored.

Series: Cisco
Show all in this series