How to Securely Erase Your iPhone

Upgrading your iPhone? Here's how to securely erase your data from it.
Zach Zach (236)
Total time: 5 minutes 

When selling or trading in your old iPhone, it's a good idea to securely erase its contents so that Skynet can't assimilate you. Here's how to do that.

iPhoneiPhone ×1
Tinfoil hat×1

Howchoo is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission at no cost to you.

Navigate to Settings > iCloud > Find My iPhone and toggle it off.

Navigate to Settings and click on your name. Scroll to the bottom, and tap "Sign Out".

Navigate to Settings > General > Reset and tap "Erase All Content and Settings".