How to Reset Network Settings on macOS

Reset Network Settings MacOS
Trouble with Wi-Fi? Don't forget to try this.
Ash Ash (283)
Total time: 5 minutes 

Resetting your network settings on macOS should be a last resort. This process will clear all of your currently saved wireless networks from your computer. It can, however, be a useful troubleshooting step for troublesome wireless networks that won't seem to connect.

Here's everything you'll need to complete this guide:

Mac computer×1
macOS reset network settings turn off wi-fi

Before you clear the network settings, be sure to disable Wi-Fi on the machine you're using. Click the wireless icon in the menu bar, and choose Turn Wi-Fi Off from the menu.

macOS open system configuration

Open Finder and then type Command+Shift+G to open the following directory:

/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/
macOS reset network settings remove network settings files

In the SystemConfiguration folder, locate and delete the following files:

  • NetworkInterfaces.plist
  • preferences.plist
  • com.apple.airport.preferences.plist
  • com.apple.network.identification.plist
  • com.apple.wifi.message-tracer.plist

You can delete the files by right-clicking on the file name and clicking Move to Trash.

If you want to avoid any issues, you can always make a backup of these files. When you're ready to clear your network settings, delete the files.

Empty the trash to totally purge the old files. Restart your machine. When it boots again, reenable Wi-Fi using the Wi-Fi icon in the menu bar.